Charlotte Brontë : Afterlives of a Modern Woman

Bronte Family

The Brontë Parsonage is proud to present their next Thursday talk: Charlotte Brontë : Afterlives of a Modern Woman.

The event will be held at the parsonage at 2 p.m. GMT (9 a.m. EST) with a virtual event at 7:30 p.m. GMT (2:30 p.m.EST). Tickets are free with the museum admission but the virtual event costs £3. The virtual event will be live and will not be recorded and is on Zoom.

For more information, visit the event page.

New Exhibit at the Bronte Parsonage

Defying Expectations

Bronte Parsonage has a interesting exhibit now showing at the Parsonage. “Defying Expectations: Inside Charlotte Bronte’s Wardrobe” is look at over 20 pieces of clothing and accessories owned by Charlotte. Per the exhibit’s page, Charlotte was nothing like her titular character Jane Eyre when it came to dress. Charlotte had a fondness for fashion and some risque items. Who knew!

The exhibit is curated by Dr.  Eleanore Houghton, a historical fashion consultant. Houghton’s most recent work includes an exhibit featuring the dress of the 19th C author, George Eliot.

The exhibit runs until January 1, 2023 and the cost is part of the museum entry fee. For more information, you can visit the exhibit website.

International Women’s Day: Literary Letters

The partnership of Brontë Parsonage MuseumChawton House and Elizabeth Gaskell’s House are proud to present, “International Women’s Day: Literary Letters.”

Women’s words have often been dismissed as mere ‘gossip’, whilst men’s have been fêted and admired. But women’s letters  can often reveal huge amounts about their writer’s lives and the boundaries that confined them, making them a fascinating portal into their private worlds. Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë, Elizabeth Gaskell and Mary Somerville are four such extraordinary women, whose lives we can explore through their private words.

The event will be held on March 8 at 7pm – 9pm GMT (2pm – 4pm EST) and is online. Cost is £10.

For more information on the event and to book, visit the event’s webpage here.

Bronte Parsonage Museum Set to Re-open May 19th

With COVID days finally, hopefully, in the rearview mirror, the Bronte Parsonage Museum is thrilled to announce they are re-opening up on May 19 at 10AM BST.

The gift shop is already open from 10AM – 5P and you can also shop online.

Entrance to the museum is by ticket only and staggered throughout the day on a timed-entry with a limit of the number of people. This is to keep in line with current regulations for health measures and social distancing.  If you have an existing pass or a member of the museum, you still must order a ticket.

Tickets can booked up to June 20. Book your ticket here.

In accordance with Visit England, BPM also participates in NHS’s Test and Trace program as well as other measures to keep both staff and patrons safe. Visit BPM’s Staying Safe page for more information.